fr/ en
IDM_Logo

Workshop created in 1980

envelope Workshop

Techniques

An envelope is a promise, a ritual. They are lined with silk, distinguishing themselves from the administrative to the functional, hidden with wax, worked in coloured paper, cardboard or containing seeds ready to be planted rather than thrown away. We care for it as much as its contents and it doesn't take much to make a story. The envelope is thought of in its format, before even imagining its contents, its colour, its closure system and its texture are all twists that our projects enjoy playing with. When an edition is fine, the envelope format can even be preserved by imagining a corrugated cardboard envelope rather than a mailing box. Made in record time, matching the invitations, their papers, techniques and colours.

"THE GILDING PLACED ON THE ENVELOPE IS SPECTACULAR AND REMINDS ONE OF A STAMP PLACED ONCE THE ENVELOPE IS CLOSED."

Atelier

In our workshops, Kah Lan and Chang Gan shape the envelopes with four hands into a precision ballet. Each fold, each bonding surface is meticulously laid out, transforming itself into a meditative activity that the Imprimerie du Marais's workshop enjoys in as others would do origami. Their dexterity is unparalleled to produce the 1,200 envelopes that will reveal, protect and shelter your event. Sometimes slowed down by the demands of a crumpled material, a sensitive double fold, a fragile lining, their patience is matched only by the complexity of the designs. Precious little hands, they are to your invitations what seamstresses are to the workshops of the Couture.

Laboratory

 

Typography typed 

When you decide to type a text on the back of an envelope. Strike a text on several flaps and give the illusion of simplicity where the most meticulous operations are hidden. The gilding then covers the 3 flaps with a preparation, adjustments and settings that reveal themselves once the envelope is closed. The gilding placed on the envelope is fabulous and reminds one of a stamp placed once the envelope is closed, an exclusive sign of confidentiality. The all-over printing, perfectly superimposed once the envelope is closed, is a sign of the refinement and exigency of the craftsmen who also place the wallpaper. We know the whims of such an exercise and let your recipients marvel at this little magic trick once the envelope is sealed!

 

Embossed envelope 

When a mark is embossed on an envelope. Always with the idea of a wax stamp, the pastes of the envelopes can be embossed with a logo, an address or a coat of arms. It is then certain that a clip, a tool as unique as it is precious, has gone through the process, sealing the paper of a brand that also expresses its attention to detail. Existing envelopes are suitable on a triangle paste, envelopes in production can be struck over their entire surface, spectacularly or in detail on one side.

 

Silk paper 

Envelope liners bring sophistication to the most precious packages and place the envelope in a protective cushion. The lining paper can be a tinted tissue paper, a tissue paper printed with your brand name, a paper with a colour or texture as unique as Japanese paper. The issues of glueing and folding are always sensitive, we work to perfect them, we prototype, exchange and perfect together. The order of the operations is key, the glances on the finishing touches are decisive.

"Each fold, each collage is meticulously arranged, turning into a meditative activity."

Our editions

fr/en
IDM_Logo

Atelier Créé en 1980

Atelier d'Enveloppe

TECHNIQUES

Une enveloppe est une promesse, un rituel, qui depuis toujours se charge d’une histoire et d’un cachet unique. Elles se doublent de soie, se distinguant de l’administratif au fonctionnel, se cachètent de cire, se travaillent en papier de couleurs, en carton ou en feuilles ensemencées prêtes à être plantées plutôt que jetées. Nous la soignons autant que son contenu et il ne suffit pas de grand chose pour faire toute une histoire. L’enveloppe se pense dans son format, avant même d’imaginer son contenu, sa couleur, son système de fermeture et sa texture sont autant de twists avec lesquels nos projets se plaisent à jouer. Quand une édition est fine, le format enveloppe peut même être préservé en imaginant une enveloppe en carton ondulé plutôt qu’une boîte d’envoi. Fabriquées en un temps record, assorties aux invitations, à leurs papiers, techniques et couleurs.

≪La dorure placee sur l’enveloppe est spectaculaire et rappelle un cachet place une fois l’enveloppe fermee.≫

Portrait d'artisan

Dans nos ateliers, Kah Lan et Chang Gan façonnent à quatre mains les enveloppes en un ballet de précision. Chaque pli, chaque collage est minutieusement disposé, se transformant en une activité méditative dont l’atelier de façonnage de l’Imprimerie du Marais se réjouit comme d’autres feraient des origamis. Leur dextérité est sans égale pour produire les 1’200 enveloppes qui vont dévoiler, protéger et abriter votre évènement. Parfois ralentis dans l’exigence d’une matière qui froisse, un double pli sensible, une doublure fragile, leur patience n’a d’égale que la complexité des designs. Petites mains précieuses, ils sont à vos invitations ce que les couturières sont aux ateliers de la Couture.

Laboratoire

 

Typographie frappée

Quand on décide de frapper un texte sur le dos d’une enveloppe.
Frapper un texte sur plusieurs rabats et donner l’illusion d’une simplicité là où se cache la plus minutieuse des opérations. La dorure recouvre alors les 3 rabats avec une préparation, des réglages et des ajustements qui se révèlent une fois l’enveloppe fermée. La dorure placée sur l’enveloppe est fabuleuse et rappelle un cachet placé une fois l’enveloppe fermée, signe exclusif de confidentialité. L’impression en all-over se superposant parfaitement une fois l’enveloppe fermée, signe le raffinement et l’exigence des artisans. Nous connaissons les caprices d’un tel exercice et laissons vos destinataires s’émerveiller de ce petit tour de magie une fois l’enveloppe cachetée!

 

Enveloppe gaufrée

Quand sur une enveloppe se gaufre une marque.
Toujours dans l’idée d’un cachet de cire, les pâtes des enveloppes peuvent être gaufrées d’un logo, d’une adresse ou d’un blason. Il est alors certain qu’une pince, un outil aussi unique que précieux, est passé par là, cachetant le papier d’une marque qui dit aussi son attention aux détails. Les enveloppes existantes s’y prêtent sur une pâte triangle, les enveloppes en fabrication peuvent être frappées sur toute leur surface, spectaculairement ou en détail sur une face.

 

Papier de soie

La doublure des enveloppes apporte une sophistication aux envois les plus précieux et place le courrier dans un coussin protecteur. Le papier du doublage peut être un papier de soie teinté, un papier de soie imprimé de votre marque, un papier de couleur ou une texture aussi unique qu’un papier japonais. Les questions du collage et du pliage sont toujours sensibles, nous travaillons à les parfaire, nous prototypons, échangeons et parfaisons ensemble. L’ordre des opérations est clé, les regards sur les finitions décisifs.

≪Chaque pli, chaque collage est minutieusement dispose, se transformant en une activite meditative.≫

Nos éditions