fr/ en
IDM_Logo

Workshop created in 1980

Embossing Workshop

Techniques

Ever since it was first produced, the paper has been carved to match the details of seals and mouldings, embossed for relief patterns or stamped to fit into cavities. The pressure of the hand presses has increased tenfold today and the increasingly fine and precise engravings make it possible to work a 3D pattern, mixing the finest details with the most sculpted embossing. How do you transfer a visual onto paper? Which solutions and textures are transferable and, above all, how far can you go? This is the subject of this post and proposal: and of our workshops that play with the limits of paper to surpass them!

"WHEN THE IDEA IS TO ACCENTUATE THE EFFECT AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE, AND THE SUPPORT IS THICK, STAMPING IS THE BEST SOLUTION."

Atelier

During the night, the magnesium engraving factory runs so that a file received, checked, BAT is engraved and delivered in a few hours. In the early morning, the foilers discover their tools, prepare them and refine the details by hand. Engravers and foilers work hand in hand to tame the clichés by melting the cast iron and paper. Under 2 to 200 tons of pressure, they seek balance by "betting" to distribute even pressure on the paper. The techniques seem mechanical, yet they require the dexterity of a tightrope walker to strike his precious tools on such a fragile sheet of paper.

Laboratory

 

 

Sculpted embossing

Printing takes on its true meaning when the object melts into the paper, when the front is marked on a card, when the details of a garment, the lace of a dress become a leaf. We take care of these steps with a 3D developer capable of modelling an HD file and a team of craftsmen who are experienced in setting up the engraved plates on their embossing presses. They know the hazards of a sharp shape, the whims of a paper that is too stiff, the solutions to get your details at the heart of a massive volume. Only the chosen paper dictates its limits, combustible, ephemeral, sensitive.

Stamping on cardboard

When the idea is to accentuate the effect as much as possible, and the substrate is thick, embossing is the best solution. But what surface, what thickness, what type of material? We have tested many; leather takes details and small typographies very well, corrugated cardboard imposes fairly thick typographies, whilst dense cardboard allows visuals, typos, and textures to express themselves at their best. Felt is the most capricious, only accepting to reveal the letters if their fineness adapts to its fibres. 

 

Embossing and cut-outs  

The invitation to Luxe Pack Monaco 2017 designed by Made Thought reproduces the signature of Monaco in a sculpted embossing then laser-cut, carefully superimposed. When we saw this design, we imagined that the laser would have difficulty attacking these papers deformed by the pressure of the embossing… and yet here it is, laser perfectly fixed on the embossing, paper transformed into an object.

"THE EMBOSSING IMPRINT CAN BE APPLIED AT THE MARSH PRINT SHOP ON SUPPORTS AS DIVERSE AS YOUR CREATIVITY."

Our editions in embossing

fr/en
IDM_Logo

Atelier Créé en 1980

Atelier de Gaufrage

Techniques de gaufrage

Depuis qu’il existe, le papier se sculpte et épouse les détails des sceaux et des moulures, se gaufre pour des motifs en relief ou s'estampe pour les poser en creux. La pression des presses à bras est aujourd’hui décuplée et les gravures de plus en plus fines et précises permettent de travailler un motif en 3D, mêlant les détails les plus fins aux gaufrages les plus sculptés. Comment transférer un visuel sur le papier ? Quelles solutions et quelles textures sont possibles, et surtout jusqu’où peut-on aller ? Voici le sujet même de ce post et de proposition : et de nos ateliers qui se jouent des limites du papier pour les surpasser !

≪Quand l'idee est d'accentuer le plus possible l'effet, et que le support est epais, estamper est la meilleure des solutions.≫

Visite de l'atelier

Dans la nuit, l'atelier de gravure de magnésium tourne pour qu'un fichier reçu, vérifié, BAT soit gravé et livré en quelques heures. Au petit matin, les doreurs découvrent leurs outils, les préparent et peaufinent les détails à la main. Lorsque les gaufrages sont précis et profonds, un graveur de laiton utilise des outils manométriques et ciselés, une petite semaine se passe avant que l'outil n'arrive à l'atelier. Graveurs et doreurs travaillent main dans la main pour apprivoiser les clichés en mettant la fonte et le papier en fusion. Sous 2 à 200 tonnes de pression, ils recherchent l'équilibre en “misant” pour répartir sur le papier une pression uniforme. Les techniques semblent mécaniques, elles imposent pourtant la dextérité d'un équilibriste pour frapper ses outils précieux sur une si fragile feuille.

Laboratoire

 

 

Gaufrage sculpté

Imprimer prend tout son sens quand l’objet se fond dans le papier, quand la façade se marque sur une carte, quand les détails d’un vêtement, la dentelle d’une robe deviennent une feuille. Mais quel challenge à priori ! Quelle complexité dans la conception du fichier et le brief de l’imprimeur ! Nous prenons ces étapes en charge avec un développeur 3D capable de modéliser un fichier HD et une équipe d’artisans rodés à la mise en place des clichés creusés sur leurs presses à gaufrer. Ils connaissent les aléas d’une forme en pointe, les caprices d’un papier trop raide, les solutions pour sortir vos détails au cœur d’un volume massif. Seul le papier choisi dicte ses limites, combustible, éphémère, sensible.

 

Estampage sur carton

Quand l’idée est d’accentuer le plus possible l’effet, et que le support est épais, estamper est la meilleure des solutions. Mais quelle surface, quelle épaisseur, quel type de matériaux ? Nous en avons testé beaucoup ; le cuir prend très bien les détails et les petites typographies, le carton ondulé impose des typographies assez épaisses, tandis que le carton dense laisse des visuels, typos, ou textures s’exprimer au mieux. Le feutre est le plus capricieux n’acceptant de révéler les lettres que si leurs finesses s’adaptent à ses fibres. A vos marquages !

 

Gaufrage et découpes

L’invitation au Luxe Pack Monaco 2017 conçue par Made Thought reproduit le sceau de Monaco dans un gaufrage sculpté puis découpé au laser minutieusement superposé. En voyant ce design, nous imaginons que le laser aurait du mal à attaquer ces papiers déformés par la pression du gaufrage… et pourtant le voici, laser parfaitement calé sur le gaufrage, papier transformé en un objet, une invitation devenue collector!

≪L'empreinte du gaufrage se pose a l'Imprimerie du Marais sur des supports aussi divers que votre creativite.≫

Nos éditions en gaufrage