Notebooks III

145,00 

A SPIRIT OF COLLECTION NURTURED OVER THE YEARS

In the same vein as the two previous collections published in 2011 and 2014, the Notebooks III by the Imprimerie du Marais contribute to asserting and developing the essence of what, over the years, has become the Art of Possibility. Between tradition and innovation, they crystallise an avant-gardist, international view of excellent artistic printing, filled with outstanding expertise in pre-press, photo-proofing, prototyping, foiling, embossing, debossing, silkscreen printing, litho printing, packaging, hand finishing, and binding.

The fruit of cartes blanches handed to eight designers and graphic design studios around the world (a new group of them for each edition), the collections of small notebooks by the Imprimerie du Marais are true poetic explorations of printing techniques, materials and designs. Eagerly anticipated by specialists and enthusiasts of graphic art and special savoir-faire, these little tours of the print design world are an ode to imagination, expressed in unique and unusual combinations that inspire the various specialists of the Imprimerie du Marais to push the limits of possibility a little further, beyond boundaries. This results in collector’s items that are as varied as they are collaborative, and pervaded by a broad cultural diversity. In this sense, the Notebooks III particularly resonate with the very essence of that spirit of collection whose renewals punctuate the development of the Imprimerie du Marais.

A THIRD EDITION OF SINGULAR GEO-POETRY

Produced between 2017 and 2021, the eight notebooks launched in 2024 are all graphic interpretations of the environment of each of the designers and design studios, which were selected in conjunction with the Made Thought (Londres & New York) because of their cutting-edge approach to the printed object. Thus the Barcelona of Hey Studio s literally presented in a landscape filled with sea and sun, the Berlin of Eike König in a disruptive logbook of a digital wandering, the London of Zak Group in an in(de)finite punctuation, the Melbourne of Fabio Ongarato Design in a richly complex demographic diagram, the New York of Lotta Nieminen in the abstract expression of a topical energy, the Paris of H5 in a laconic invitation on a journey, the Taipei of Page Tsou Tsou in a raising of ecological awareness, and the Tokyo of Hattori Kazunari in a nuanced maxim. Together, these eight unique objects form a little mosaic that reflects a state of the world, a spirit of the times, whose singular geo-poetry it emanates.

A WITNESS TO HISTORICAL MOMENTS

The delayed launch of this third collection gives it a depth that is just as singular. The few years of distance make it possible to retrospectively note continuities as well as breaks, endurances and evolutions, between past reminiscences and ‘speculative stories’. In this sense, beyond their geographies, the Notebooks III are also conveyors and witnesses of historical moments.

Among these, between the lines, one deciphers that of the 2022 closure of Arjowiggins Creative Papers—a precious partner of this collection printed on the iconic Conqueror and Pop’Set—now Olin Colours—artistic paper ranges that have been relaunched by the Antalis group under the umbrella brand Creative Power.

One can also perceive that of the recent migration of the Imprimerie du Marais from Rue Chapon to Cité Griset. An arrival, departure and anchorage point, Cité Griset and its 8 production workshops under one roof constitute the figurehead of the Imprimerie du Marais’s international locations in London, New York, and Geneva. Thus, the passion of a lifetime continues to be written throughout new geographies.

A SPACE-TIME JOURNEY THAT RICHLY IMPRINTS ITSELF UPON US

In these intermixtures, the Notebooks III by the Imprimerie du Marais are all the more an invitation on a space-time journey, from the carte blanche principle to the vivid memory of the black box. Made Thought designed the latter to serve as a showcase for this biodiversity of artistic printing, evoking by turns an archive box and a mini trunk, and invoking the spirits of collection and travel; a journey that richly imprints itself upon us.

Thus we enjoy losing ourselves in this new collection to better find our way, under the benevolent gaze of a debossed Eiffel tower, symbol of the city where the Imprimerie du Marais was born and still resides, a point of reference and a beacon in the night. This cosmopolitan and itinerant dimension is also constructed from one sales space to another, from the Imprimerie du Marais’s online shop to specialised bookshops and other concept stores duly selected to become embassies. The journey of the Notebooks III ends when another begins, in the palms of your hands, in the collection of wild thoughts that will decorate their pages and inspire new possibilities…

Notebooks III by Imprimerie du Marais
A space-time journey into artistic printing
Designs of the Notebooks: Hey Studio (Barcelona), Eike König (Berlin), Zak Group (London), Fabio Ongarato Design (Melbourne), Lotta Nieminen (New York), H5 (Paris), Page Tsou (Taipei), Hattori Kazunari (Tokyo)
Art direction and packaging design: Made Thought (Paris, New York)
Leporello design: Clément Brunner (Paris)
Paper partners: Conqueror & Pop’Set by Arjowiggins Creative Papers, now Conqueror & Olin Colours – Creative Power by Antalis (Boulogne-Billancourt)
Shipping box size: 12.7 x 20.7 x 7.8 cm
Photos: Margaux Piette © Imprimerie du Marais

In stock

Notebooks III

145,00 

UN ESPRIT DE COLLECTION CULTIVÉ À TRAVERS LES ANNÉES

Dans la veine des deux précédentes collections éditées en 2011 et 2014, les Notebooks III de l’Imprimerie du Marais contribuent à affirmer et à développer l’essence de ce qui est devenu, au fil des ans, l’Art du Possible. Entre tradition et innovation, ils cristallisent une vision avant-gardiste et internationale de la création imprimée d’excellence, pétrie de savoir-faire exceptionnels en prépresse, photogravure, prototypage, dorure, gaufrage, estampage, sérigraphie, impression offset, packaging, façonnage et reliure.

Cartes blanches accordées à travers le monde à 8 designers et studios de design graphiques dont l’identité est renouvelée à chaque édition, les collections de petits carnets de l’Imprimerie du Marais sont de véritables explorations poétiques des techniques, matériaux et designs d’impression. Très attendus par les spécialistes et amateurs d’art graphique et de savoir-faire d’exception, ces petits tours du monde du print design sont une ode à l’imagination. Parce qu’elle s’y exprime en combinaisons exceptionnelles et inédites, elle engage les différents corps de métiers de l’Imprimerie du Marais à repousser chaque fois un peu plus les limites du possible, par-delà les frontières. Il en résulte des objets collectors aussi variés que collaboratifs, empreints d’une grande diversité culturelle. À ce titre, les Notebooks III résonnent tout particulièrement avec l’essence même de cet esprit de collection qui jalonne de ses renouvellements le développement de l’Imprimerie du Marais.

UNE TROISIÈME ÉDITION À LA GÉO-POÉSIE SINGULIÈRE

Produits entre 2017 et 2021, les 8 notebooks lancés en 2024 sont autant d’interprétations graphiques de l’environnement de chacun des designers et studios de design sélectionnés avec l’agence Made Thought (Londres & New York) pour leur fine approche de l’objet imprimé. Ainsi, le Barcelone d’Hey Studio se déploie littéralement dans un paysage gorgé de mer et de soleil, le Berlin d’Eike König dans le journal de bord perturbé d’une errance digitale, le Londres de Zak Group dans une ponctuation in(dé)finie, le Melbourne de Fabio Ongarato Design dans un diagramme démographique foisonnant, le New York de Lotta Nieminen dans l’expression abstraite d’une énergie topique, le Paris d’H5 dans une laconique invitation au voyage, le Taipei de Page Tsou dans une prise de conscience écologique et le Tokyo d’Hattori Kazunari dans une maxime toute en nuance. Ensemble, ces 8 objets uniques forment une petite mosaïque qui reflète un état du monde, un air du temps, dont il émane une géo-poésie singulière.

UN TOUR DU MONDE TÉMOIN D’HISTOIRES

Le lancement retardé de cette troisième collection lui confère une épaisseur toute aussi singulière. Les quelques années de recul permettent, rétrospectivement, de faire le constat de continuités comme de ruptures, de persistances et d’évolutions, entre réminiscences du passé et récits d’anticipation. En cela, les Notebooks III, au-delà de leurs géographies, sont aussi les porteurs et témoins d’histoires.

Parmi ces dernières, on décèle en filigrane celle de la disparition en 2022 d’Arjowiggins Creative Papers, précieux partenaire de cette collection imprimée sur les papiers de création des deux gammes iconiques Conqueror et Pop’Set – devenue Olin Colours –, aujourd’hui relancées par le groupe Antalis sous la marque ombrelle Creative Power.

On y perçoit aussi celle de la récente migration en 2021 de l’Imprimerie du Marais depuis la rue Chapon jusqu’à la Cité Griset. Point d’arrivée, de départ et d’ancrage, la Cité Griset et ses 8 ateliers de production réunis sous le même toit constituent la figure de proue des extensions internationales de l’Imprimerie du Marais à Londres, à New York et à Genève. La passion d’une vie continue ainsi de s’écrire au gré de géographies nouvelles.

UN VOYAGE SPATIO-TEMPOREL RICHE DES IMPRESSIONS QU’IL LAISSE

Dans ces entremêlements, les Notebooks III de l’Imprimerie du Marais invitent a fortiori à un voyage spatio-temporel, depuis le principe de la carte blanche jusqu’à la mémoire vive de la boîte noire. Conçue par Made Thought pour servir d’écrin à cette biodiversité de la création imprimée, cette dernière évoque tour à tour la boîte d’archives et la malle miniature et invoque l’esprit de collection comme celui du voyage ; un voyage riche des impressions qu’il laisse.

Ainsi, on aime se perdre dans cette nouvelle collection pour mieux s’y retrouver, sous le regard bienveillant d’une Tour Eiffel estampée à sec, symbole de la ville d’origine et d’implantation de l’Imprimerie du Marais, point de repère et phare dans la nuit. Cette dimension cosmopolite et itinérante se construit également d’un espace de commercialisation à l’autre, depuis la boutique en ligne de l’Imprimerie du Marais jusqu’aux librairies spécialisées et autres concept stores dûment sélectionnés pour devenir ambassades. Le voyage des Notebooks III s’achève quand un autre commence, au creux de vos mains, dans la collection des pensées sauvages qui viendront fleurir leurs pages et nourrir de nouveaux possibles…

Notebooks III by Imprimerie du Marais
Un voyage spatio-temporel dans la création imprimée
Designs des Notebooks : Hey Studio (Barcelone/Barcelona), Eike König (Berlin), Zak Group (Londres/London), Fabio Ongarato Design (Melbourne), Lotta Nieminen (New York), H5 (Paris), Page Tsou (Taipei), Hattori Kazunari (Tokyo)
Direction artistique & Design du packaging: Made Thought (Paris, New York)
Design du leporello : Clément Brunner (Paris)
Partenaires papier : Conqueror & Pop’Set by Arjowiggins Creative Papers, devenus Conqueror & Olin Colours – Creative Power by Antalis (Boulogne-Billancourt)
Format de la boîte d’envoi : 12,7 x 20,7 x 7,8 cm
Photos : Margaux Piette © Imprimerie du Marais

En stock